Kinki Gig

Kinki University (Real Name) is the location and this is the place I call work; where I rake in the big yen (insert maniacal laugh here).  The official title of this structure is “E-Cube,” and I think it stands for Entertainment, Education and …Elmo (I can’t recall)?  I’ve been working here for the last 10 months or so; yikes.

The photo was taken this morning, before we opened for business at 10am.  It probably wasn’t the best time to take a photo of the place, given the rain, but I like reality.  Plus, I didn’t want to make it look too cheerful.  I think my vision was a success.  In this light, it kind of looks like something out of ‘The Dark Crystal.’

What goes on inside the glass box?  Well, a lot of tomfoolery to be truthful.  I spend most of MY days shooting baskets outside, to avoid having to talk to people, but when I can’t do that, I am inside perfecting the lost art of conversation, taking orders at the ‘cafe,’ or giving some kind of presentation.  My absolute favorite activity though is when a misguided bird flies through the doors and I get to catch and release.  To date, I’ve captured three.

One VERY important rule to remember should you ever enter E3 is this…Japanese is FORBIDDEN (manager’s rules).  Speak Japanese inside and you I can not guarantee your safety.  Come to think of it, there seems to be a lot of things that are forbidden, but I digress.  I’m sure there are a lot of worse jobs I could be doing (I’ve had my share), but mentally stimulating it is not.  Luckily I have some good co-workers and we joke around a lot, which helps me get through the humdrum moments.

The students are out for spring, but I hope to take some more photos of the place when they get back.

み なさんにおつかれさまでした。= Not sure if I spelled this right, but it sounds like “mina-san-otsukaresamadeshita,” and that translates to something like, nice job everyone.  It’s said after a hard (or not so hard) days work in every single company in Japan…..except at E3 that is.

Leave a Reply

