The Riviera it is not, but it’ll do

I have been hearing about the famous ‘Shirahama’ beach for 5 years now.  “The sand is imported from the Gold Coast, Australia,” they (Japanese) say.  I always imagined it might be more fun to actually go to the Gold Coast, but what do I know?

It was a tough summer; in my worst top five.  I wanted….no…..NEEDED to get out of the city, and since I had not been to the beach all summer (I usually go every weekend during these dog days), it was the perfect opportunity to see the famed beach.

Christophe was my travel partner.  We took an afternoon bus from Osaka and arrived in Shirahama, Wakayama around 6pm.  Christophe took these pictures after we had dropped our bags off at the hotel.  In the second photo I’m making, unknowingly, a ‘water angel.’  Maybe I’m being a little dramatic, but I felt like that dip saved me from snapping, mentally.  That very moment was the highlight of my summer….really.

It was a really great getaway and I am happy we went.  It’s important to get out and refresh yourself from time to time, as most of us (I can’t be the only one!?) are “living” so out of tune with nature and that is not a good thing.  I hope to enjoy the great outdoors a lot more from now on…..even if it IS imported from the Gold Coast.

Leave a Reply

