‘Glade Runner’

I found this over a year ago, but I’m just putting it up now since I don’t have anything interesting to report.  I remember being very happy, almost proud, when I saw it.  The advertisement was posted on the side of a bus stop near my old home.  The Everglades  is a pretty amazing place and, if I stop and think about it for a minute, so is Florida.  People are often shocked to find out that I have been here for this length of time when they learn where I come from.

Japanese usually sight the theme parks (Disney World in particular), the glamorous movies that take place there, and the miles of pristine beaches.  However, if they knew that Florida was THE methamphetamine  hot spot in the U.S., that the seasons, or should I say season, offers little reprieve from the unforgiving heat, that there aren’t any hills, let alone mountains to break up the vista, or that we’d rather eat an alligator’s tail over a piece of raw fish, they may feel differently.  Sometimes the grass truly does seem greener on the other side of the fence, or ‘pond’ in this case.

Mom and Aunt Valerie; Florida sisters walking into the sunset.

That being said, if I were pressed, Florida is the place I want to be.  I think it COULD be a real paradise, but it has a long way to go.  In the meantime, I suppose I’ll settle for Florida’s most prized treasures…my family and friends.  I am truly blessed to have been born into such a family and to have met such wonderful friends.  Here is looking forward to my next visit!

One thought on “‘Glade Runner’

  1. Very nicely said JB. Alligator tail or raw fish? How bout a burger and fries? The pic is beautiful! Now I want to go to the beach at sunset. When are you coming for a visit again?? 🙂 We miss you!

    Luv u

Leave a Reply

