Urban Jungle

Welcome, one and all

It’s 5:30am on a Monday morning and I am feeling it.  Hopefully this cup of coffee will take me where I want to go.

Saturday I decided to check off a couple of things on my “I’ve been living in Osaka for six years, but haven’t done this yet” list.  The first place up was the library near my house.  I liked the building itself (old, brick), but there weren’t any English books, so that was a bummer.  And speaking of bummers, welcome to ‘Tennoji Zoo!’

Should you find yourself submerged in a urinal, you'd be wise to follow the hippo and crocodile's advice

Though I love being able to see animals up close, zoos always depressed me a little.  Tennoji Zoo does a better job of this than most.  Most of the enclosures look more like what you’d find in the local ‘cooler,’ than a modern zoo.

I seem to be saying this a lot lately, but it was a REALLY hot day and, as hot as I was, I couldn’t help but wonder what the furrier animals were going through.

It wasn’t all bad though.  There was one exhibit that I enjoyed a great deal; the Bat Cave.  I like how the Bats threw punches while eating their pumpkin casserole…pretty amazing.

On the other end of the spectrum, there was a Speckled Bear exhibit that

One of the nicer exhibits

nearly sent me into therapy.  The fun didn’t stop there though.  Shortly after that, I walked past a couple of cages, one of which housed a Snow Owl….a SNOW Owl that looked like it was melting right before my eyes.  It was a pretty sad sight.

It was hot enough that I nearly joined them

I know that I shouldn’t complain if I’m not doing anything to change the situation, but my goodness, it disgusts me to see this fascinating animals kept in such rotten conditions.  For all the residents of Tennoji Zoo, forgive me, I wish I could free all of you!

Leave a Reply

