How low can you go

 

You know it's going to be a bad day when a clown named 'Donnie' makes your breakfast

 

Say what you will about ‘McDowells’, but Donnie knows how to make a wholesome breakfast!  Now please excuse me while I go heave…again.

How does that old saying go?  ‘A bad morning usually follows a good nite?’  Well, how about a bad morning following a bad nite?

There was a party in my building Saturday evening and Andy, Matt, and I decided to check it out.  I have attended one of these parties a couple of times before, but the boys had never been.  I think Andy put it best later when he said that it wasn’t unlike a college frat party, but the fact that it was held in a one room apartment in downtown Osaka by three men in their mid 40’s, puts an entirely new spin on things…and not necessarily in a good way.  The formula is straight forward enough;  one part “eager” foreigner dudes + two parts English hungry females + buckets of booz = ‘Cafe Drew!’

It really wasn’t my friend’s (nor my) scene, but I thought they might get a kick out of it (they did).  A typical conversation with one of the female guest might go like this…Random foreign guy; “Hello.”  Random English bandit; “Where are you from?”  RFG; “Australia/America/England/France/Canada, etc..”  REB; “What do you do? (no chance to answer) English teacher?”  And around around we go.

It’s a little dark, but I took a short video to give you an idea of what it’s like.  Here, Andy and Matt are sharing a laugh on the veranda;

One of the funniest moments of the nite, for me at least, was when Christophe convinced me to hide in the shower with him and spray whomever came in to use the facilities.  Childish?  Perhaps.  Funny after a five or so drinks?  Most definitely!

It’s now Tuesday morning and I am just now starting to feel recovered (kinda).  My buddies and I had a good laugh, but I’m pretty sure none of us will be visiting ‘Cafe Drew’ anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

