To those we love

My friend Jared's grandmother...may she rest in peace.

This past week, some very special friends of mine lost someone that they cared deeply for.  I had met my friend’s grandmother on many occasions and she was always very kind to me.  I’ve been in her home, eaten one of her famous fried eggs, seen her paintings/crafts (she was quite talented) and listened to some embarrassing, yet endearing stories about my friend Jared.  She used to call me “Joe from Coco mo.”

My boy, Jared

Their houses were only separated by the yard, but they were so much closer than that, so I know not having her here will be especially difficult for him and his mother.  I realize there is nothing I could say to ease their pain, but I hope they find some peace in knowing she had a family that loved her very much.  I too will miss her presence.

To the Martin family, I love you all and my heart goes out to you; she was a wonderful woman.

To everyone else, please don’t be afraid to show those you care about how much they mean to you.  I’ve said it before, but it bares repeating.  Tomorrow is NOT promised to us, but THIS moment is real, and it’s something you can not have back…make the most of it.

One thought on “To those we love

  1. Joe,
    It’s your boy Jared! 🙂 Thank you so much for the kind words. We miss Nanny very much. I’m glad you remember the few times we hung out at her house. Joe from Cocomo. LOL. I just read this blog today. I don’t know how I missed it, but I read it at the right time. Thank you. I appreciate you…..we all do. I miss you, man. I can’t wait to see you in December.
    Love,
    Your boy Jared

Leave a Reply

