Coast to Coast

January 10th, 2011

It’s Monday evening and I’m watching the college championship game between the Oregon Ducks and the Auburn Tigers; it’s halftime.  The score thus far is 11 to 16, with Auburn in the lead.  I could have watched the game with my grandfather or with my friend Jared, but for whatever reason, I have been sort of tired since I woke up and decided to watch it here at my mom’s by myself.  I didn’t even have any motivation to exercise today, which is unusual.

evertying but...my dignity

In place of training, I ate six cinnamon rolls for breakfast and finished off tonite’s dinner with a pint of Ben and Jerry’s ice cream.  Needless to say, I’m not feeling so great right now.

More than the junk though, I think I have been out of it because I am a little sad.  I will be leaving Florida (and all it encompasses) this Thursday.  It’s always tough when the departure date nears.

I have had a really nice time and I am grateful that I was able to come visit for this long.  The first week was a little rough due to jet-lag, but since then it’s been great.  Though we are all different in many ways, I know that I have a great family and they have gone out of there way to ensure that I have a nice time.  My friends too have been super, even though we didn’t get to spend much time together.  My only real regret is that I didn’t bring my camera from Japan to capture moments.

a picture of sanity

Fortunately, my Aunt Sharon visited the other day and took a few with her camera.  This one was taken at my grandparent’s house.  See, don’t we look like a nice, normal family!?

My next stop is San Diego.  I’ve never been there, but am looking forward to seeing the U.S. from a different vantage point.  Nancy, my ole’ buddy from Japan is gracious enough to let me shack up with her and her man for a few days.  It’ll be nice to see her again and I know it’ll ease the pain of going back to Japan directly from Florida (always a bit of a downer).

Well, I will not be able to write anything until I get back, so I do hope that you all have had a nice holiday season and I wish everyone the very best for 2011!

5 thoughts on “Coast to Coast

    • you know something? I was able to kick the habit easier than I thought. kind of a “out sight, out of mind” situation. of course i replaced that with other crap.

Leave a Reply

