100

I’ve just been informed by the good people at wordpress.com that I have written 99 posts, which means this is my 100th, so to commemorate this grand occasion I consulted with my good friend, ‘J. Mart’ who suggested I take a quick look back on what’s happened since my first post. Here goes nothing!

The first entry I submitted was out of sheer boredom on a rainy day in Osaka, Japan,

Couldn't find a picture of rain in Osaka in my files, so you get Christophe in Kobe instead

but my blog soon became a way for me to record my memories; memories usually forgotten. Since the start of this, a lot of things have changed in my life. It does no good to label these events as good or bad, but I would be remise not to acknowledge them. So, in honor of memories, here is a short list of some of the things that have transpired since I began this blog…in not completely accurate, chronological order.

1) Changed jobs.

2) Moved four times.

3) Split up with the only girl I’ve ever loved.

4) Traveled to Korea.

5) Traveled to India….and (barely) lived to tell about it.

6) Traveled to Singapore (cleanest city I’ve ever seen!)

7) Resigned from my job in Japan and moved back to the U.S.

8) Lived with my buddy, Russ, in Sacramento, C.A. for three months.

9) Applied to the Peace Corps.

10) Flew back to Florida and, along with Rene and John, drove my truck back to Sacramento for a job.

11) Left Sacramento a month latter after learning that the job I was promised fell through (company cut backs).

12) Drove cross country again (solo this time) stopping off in San Diego, Phoenix, Ole Paso, Austin, New Orleans, Tallahassee, St. Augustine and finally back here to Lakeland, Fl).

13) Was able to meet up with people I haven’t seen in YEARS.

12) Had my first Thanksgiving in the U.S. in seven years and ate an uncomfortable amount.

13) Continued with the Peace Corps application and am now nearing the end of the process.

Eddie and I....a day in the life.

There have been times since I’ve been back here when I felt as though I’ve been squandering my time. To a degree, that’s probably true, but I try to remind myself that I am exactly where I chose to be at this moment. If in fact this Peace Corps thing works out, and I believe it very well might, I will be leaving the country again for another two years and then some. Not so long in the grand scheme of things, but long enough to count. That’s why I am hear now, sitting on my butt, enjoying the easy life with my family. I may never have a time like this again and I want to make the most of it.

It’s so easy to lose sight of the important things in this crazy world, but don’t.

"Home is where the heart is"

Whatever is important in your life, I hope you do your best to focus on those things and let the rest fall to the wayside. As cliche as this is, life is too short to sweat the minor annoyances; I sincerely believe that.

My wish is that all who read this have a wonderful, safe, happy, healthy New Year!

4 thoughts on “100

  1. Champion joe. Happy for u mate. Miss u heaps but so happy youre enjoyin your life.
    Happy new year my friend

    • Nat Dog! So good to hear from you, partner! I was wondering how you’ve been. Actually, I was just watching “Slumdog…” and reminiscing bout our trip. Happy New Year to you too, amigo! Shoot me an e-mail when you can.

Leave a Reply

