Crash

My latest pet peeve

Yesterday my friend Jared and I decided to take a ride to the mall.  Two grown men going to the mall together?  Yes, I know.  I wish I had a good excuse, but the reality is that we didn’t have any better ideas.  In any event, on the way to the mall we were having a very heavy talk about life (getting more uncomfortable?), and after a half an hour or so of discussion, we’d come to the conclustion that, basically, people are like glorified ants.  We could go at any moment and thus, should appreciate every second we have, even the seemingly rotten ones.  Sounds reasonable enough.  Seconds later, about 60 feet away from our vehicle, I see a small, black sports car try and cut off a dump truck….bad move.  The car didn’t quite make it.  The front of the dump truck and the ass end of the car collided and, not unlike those big Hollywood chase scenes we’ve grown so accustomed to, the car flipped over in what seemed like slow motion and then proceeded to skid along on it’s top while debris scattered across the road.  It was close enough that I had to swerve into the far left lane to avoid the destruction and prevent an already bad situation from becoming worse.  Thankfully, the girl driving, (Jared said she looked like she was in her early 30’s) appeared to be in one piece.  Even more fortunate, there was an ambulance just a few paces behind us. The timing could not have been more eerie, given the topic of our conversation moments earlier.  It made me think about how much I don’t know, how many questions I have.  Sometimes I think I know, but the truth is, I really don’t know what this crazy life is about and perhaps I never will.  That said, I am grateful for the moments and the people I have in my life to try and figure it all out.  It’s all about the journey after all, right? I hope you all had a SAFE and JOYUS day! P.S.  PLEASE don’t text and drive!!

3 thoughts on “Crash

  1. You should probably clarify that we were going to a sporting goods store at the mall. That puts a more masculine spin on the story. Of course the store was called “DICK’S”. 😦

  2. haha, I don’t think that needed to be announced, J-Rod. Good thing we didn’t mention that we went to eat at “The Blue Oyster” afterward. :o)

    Yes indeed, luck was on her side.

Leave a Reply

