One step forward, two steps back…the way of the jester

“Riding Dirty” with my buddy Maurice

Ok, this is a peculiar week.  I’m using the internet for the second time in as many days, so you are going to get a second helping.  I received some disappointing news yesterday at our TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) seminar(?).  It turns out that all of my goofing off in and out of my Bahasa Indonesia class did NOT pay off and because of it, I will be spending next week getting extra help (a.k.a. Remedial Class), while most of my peers will be studying the local dialect spoken in their respective permanent posts.  Oh well, you play you pay, right?  It’s taken me a while, but I’ve come to the conclusion that I have a hard time focusing in a group setting.  I’m easily distracted; much more so than I’d like to admit.  My past seven weeks haven’t been a total wash though.  I’ve had a lot of laughs and I’m starting to feel I learned a lot more than I’ve shown, which I’ve only realized over the last couple of days.  I’m confident I will do much better, at least with my language, once I move to my next site.  That move isn’t for another 2.5 weeks though, so I’m going to enjoy this situation while I can!

And so it goes…

4 thoughts on “One step forward, two steps back…the way of the jester

    • Renster, that was beautifully timed, thank you! lol. I was cracking up. “You’ve GOT to get in this program….we don’t do anything!” Greatest thing you never did. :o)

  1. Joe! How was special class – all language-d up now?
    oh and where is your placement? or did you already mention that?!

Leave a Reply

