“The Final Countdown”

The Last ‘Makan Siang’…thank you to Mas Heru and his lovely family!

Only four days remain until we wrap up this party.  It’s been great, it really has and I feel I’ve learned some important, personal lessons that I plan to take with me.  Ten weeks of PST (the past two in particular) have helped me view things in a different, albeit dimmer, light.  A growing experience to be sure.

At this juncture, I am neither excited nor disappointed about going to permanent site.  I can say that I will miss the company of my host family and the friends in my village.  People have treated me very well here and I appreciate them immensely, though I know I don’t show it as much as should.  My permanent site isn’t too far from the place I’m living now and I told my current host family that I will come back for periodic visits; I hope I can follow through.

If the first two paragraphs are a bit of a downer, I

The Legend begins…

apologize.  I’ve had a very long day, a long two days actually, and I’m writing this just before bed on a Sunday nite.  Fortunately, I do have some exciting news to report.  I’ve purchased a guitar….a guitar that I’m going to ride all the way to Hollywood….Boulevard!  So my friends and family who worry/wonder about what my future holds, fear no more; I’ve found the key to fame and fortune for the modest price of Rp449,000 (about $50 U.S.).  I have a partner too, my host sister, Yofiana.  It’s still early and I haven’t discussed it with her yet, but I’m thinking about calling us, “JoFi.”  I really think we’ve got that elusive “it” factor and it’s only a matter of time before we break big.

2 thoughts on ““The Final Countdown”

  1. Joepan!
    Glad to find you are getting something out of your time in Indonesia.
    Baby coming in a few days, so will let you know as soon as the beef emerges!
    Take care and be in touch soon action man!
    Matt and Toshiko

Leave a Reply

