“Tweetie”

My alias.

Here is a line from my buddy, “the Badger’s” latest e-mail; “So….it looks like you flew the coop again, Tweetie!  On to new living quarters?”  He calls me “Tweetie,” because I’ve moved house more times than I care to count.  I’ve had my reasons each time, even if they weren’t logical reasons.  My latest move is no different.  So, my answer to you, Badger is yes, I’ve done it yet again…another Houdini’esq escape!

The abridged version of the story goes a little

My new host dad trying to look busy.

like this.  A few weeks back, I was seriously contemplating looking for a new place to live.  I felt like I was constantly walking on eggshells in my house.  The folks were very nice and very accommodating, so I can’t blame them, but because they are so passionate about their religion, I often felt…constrained.  One example I constantly refer to, just to illustrate my point, is that I had purchased a guitar just before I moved to my permanent site.  That was about five weeks ago.  I knew I would have a lot of free time on my hands once I arrived here and I also knew that there wouldn’t be much going on in my village in the way of entertainment.  I had visions of sitting on the front porch in the breeze, practicing away on my new ax and singing kumbaya with the locals.  Unfortunately, that  never happened.  I was informed straight off the bat that guitar playing in public, which is everywhere when you live in the village, is considered seedy, so I was often stuck in my room, strumming my sad, little guitar.

You can huff and puff, but you’ll never blow my new ‘roomah’ down….I hope.

There were other things that I really don’t need to go into detail about right now, but know that, even though my new place is only a mile and a half away from my last home, I’m a million miles closer to comfortable.  Maybe it was just my “Uncle George’s” “fickle hand of fate” giving me a break this time, or maybe good things happen when you follow your gut?  Either way, it was the right move at the right time.

I now live with a family of four; a mother and father in their 40s, a sister that is 20, a 13 year old brother and three teachers from my school.  Eight people in one house is a little much, but it’s only temporary, as a new home is under construction next door and is slated to be completed within a week or so, which could also mean that it will be done sometime before the New Year.  Once it’s finished, I will be moving there with the other teachers and my family will stay in their original home.  I’m pretty excited about it all.  My principal took my into town this morning to buy my new bed and dresser.  I took a few pictures of the place yesterday, so you can see how it’s coming along.  I’ll take some more when dust settles…literally.

‘Wayne Manor’

4 thoughts on ““Tweetie”

  1. Your host dad has the best smile. He looks a little cheeky. Glad you made the move and looking forward to seeing Wayne Manor when it’s complete.

    • I don’t know what the heck he’s talking about 85% of the time, but he’s good fun! He’s always smiling about something…or nothing(?) As soon as I get in there, I’ll throw those photos up! 😉

  2. Hey Tweetie, it’s The Badger. Glad to see you dropped my nickname in your latest post. I haven’t heard that one in a while. Also glad to see you flew the coop. I think you’ll be happier. As long as Sylvester doesn’t turn up in your new house. 🙂

    • Badger, you I hope you realize you’ve just identified yourself. But yes, I am MUCH happier where I’m at now, but I’ll keep my eye out for any suspicious cats.

Leave a Reply

