‘Kinky Kermit’

*For effect, please play this in the background as you scroll down…

This will be quick (pardon the pun). The evenings have been particularly windy here for the past three weeks and I’ve been loving it; makes me feel alive (right, Michelle?)! There’s something enchanting about seeing the shadowy banana trees sway back and forth with a blanket a stars behind them. Of course, it’s not only the trees that are being moved.

Just before I fell asleep last nite, I heard the sound of something being banged (oops, another pun) against the house, so I go outside and see that it’s the bamboo shade that I forgot to roll up (it’s kept down during the daylight hours to cut some of the heat). There’s only one thing to do at this point and that was to roll up the shade. So I start pulling the rope until the shade is as high as it will go, then I bent over to tie the rope off on the stake in the ground. As I did this, I noticed something wiggling in the dark, inches away from my hand. Of course, I think it’s a snake, most likely poisonous and probably out for revenge, after having lost his second cousin, who lived in Bali, to a pale skinned tourist three summers ago. Upon further inspection, I see it is not a vengeful snake, but rather, two frogs in the throes of making tadpoles. In the movies, the romantic couples often say to ogling strangers, “why don’t you take a picture, it will last longer!,” so that’s what I did. Love is, and always will be, all around us…

Maybe he’s choking…?

7 thoughts on “‘Kinky Kermit’

  1. I have a similar story. Except my clever title would be “Passionate Poultry” or “Poultry Passion” – I can’t decide which I like best.

Leave a Reply

