‘To the Peace-cave!’

“Fake emergency?  Needed immediately?  Chocolate Chip Cookies!? I’ll be right there!”

I’d just gotten to school when the call came in Thursday morning.  The orders were simple and somewhat clear…come to Surabaya A.S.A.P.; there’s a fake emergency!   To be quite honest, I wasn’t thrilled with news, but once I naik’d (boarded) that bus and got a text from my buddy informing me that he too was heading to the same place, I pepped up considerably.

The bus ride there, which I’m normally not a huge fan of, was semi-entertaining.  My enraptured “audience” included a snack selling daddy of three girls, a ukulele player in his twenties, a couple of curious house wives and a perverted Army Lieutenant.  We went with the popular Q&A format, so I didn’t have to use a lot prepared material; always nice.  I tried to put on a good show and if all the hands on my thighs were any indication, I think I was a great success!

The Modern Dude.  What’s wrong with this picture?

The time in Surabaya was a laugh a minute, thanks in no small part to Joe Jr., and I enjoyed myself thoroughly.  I got to know a few of the previous batch of volunteers a little more, had some better than average pizza, one of our director’s famous, homemade cookies and only two ‘misterrrrs‘ yelled in my direction.  If that doesn’t add up to a couple of pleasant days, what does?  I can’t

“Good grief…can you believe they assigned me a room with the Joe(s)!?”

speak for everyone, but the timing really couldn’t have been better, though to be fare, I’d probably have said that on any number of days over the last couple of weeks.  Any way you slice it, it was tasty and I’m hungry for more.  Until then, gang…

Looking at things a little differently these days.

Leave a Reply

