‘Hello, Mister Spider’

Ever get that erie feeling that someone is watching you?  I had that sensation the other day while I was in the kitchen cooking (probably oatmeal, I can’t recall?).  I wasn’t being paranoid.  When I glanced over my right shoulder I found, not two, but EIGHT eyes staring in my direction.  And there was nothing itsy or bitsy about this spider.

‘You looking at me, eight eyes!?’

Though I’m no arachnologist, I went ahead and classified him anyway.  My uneducated guess is that he was a member of the ‘tarantula, anorexia’ family, but since I couldn’t get him to sign off on a biopsy, we’ll never know.  Generally speaking, I’m a spider-fan, but after taking a good look at this one up close, I started to wonder how much I liked the idea of him crawling over my face in my sleep.  It didn’t take me long to come up with an answer. I decided I would not like it very much at all, so after I finished cooking, I had a decision to make.  I could either do the Indonesian thing, locate the nearest leather sandal and beat him senseless with it, or walk away.  I went with the latter.  Like two gentlemen, we acknowledged one another’s presence and then went our separate ways.  I figure as long as he stays on his side of the house, everything will be kosher.

Leave a Reply

