‘Out on good behavior’

Enter if you dare!

Enter if you dare!

I moved house again last week.  My goal is to hit them all by the time my contract is up (just kidding, P. Wawan!). I wasn’t miserable at my last place, but I wasn’t exactly living the dream either.  People who’d seen it often remarked that my previous enclosure (last two, actually) resembled a convict’s cell, but that room was actually the least of my worries.  It’s all over now though and I’m settling in my new cave quite nicely.  I finally have the privacy I’ve been craving.

A place to lay my weary head.

A place to lay my weary head.

I will miss my last host family.  Pak Sumono was my buddy and I got along really well with everyone in the neighborhood.  Fortunately, my school is across the street from the old place, so I’ll be able to swing by and play sport with the kids when the mood strikes me.  Some of the highlights of the new crib, aside from the privacy I just mentioned, are that it’s extremely close to the place I catch the bus to travel to Malang/Surabaya, my room is about three times the size as the last one, I have an actual shower IN my room, a toilet IN my room (in order to use it properly, it helps if you’ve toured with “Cirque du Soleil” and/or have qualified for the U.S. Olympic Gymnastics team…), a television, a wall mounted fan and….I hope you are sitting down….a real bed!  That’s right, my days of “camping” inside are over and I’ll let you in on something….I don’t miss it one bit.

To wash away my impure thoughts.

To wash away my impure thoughts(?)

To fresh starts!

12 thoughts on “‘Out on good behavior’

    • I don’t know that I’ll ever be “settled,” partner, but it was definitely a step in the right direction. And I still don’t have an iron gate to warn me of intruders (there are a couple of great lookouts though!). 🙂

Leave a Reply

