‘Silly T’

On December 31st, 2012, I found myself docking the shores of Gili Trawangan, a small island off the coast of Lombok.  The mission at hand was to celebrate the new year in grand fashion, but when I laid my salty eyes on it, my first impression of the island was that it was a grand mess.  Gili T, as it’s known by us outsiders, was busy, dirty and lined with restaurants/bars, each blasting their own flavor of obnoxious techno music.  Littering the streets, both figuratively and literally, were a real ‘who’s who’ of bozos; not exactly what I was expecting or hoping for.  I didn’t let the scene spoil my mood entirely though and the next day I was rewarded for my patience when roughly 70-80% of the people who were there for NYE vacated and the island took on a completely different feel.  With the grounds less congested, a small group of friends and I walked the perimeter of the island, swam and had some great laughs.  It was a magical day.  Here is some footage of our last evening on ‘Silly T’ (it’s what we like to call it).  I’m not sure that the video below does it justice, but in person, at the moment the video was captured, it was a painfully beautiful.

3 thoughts on “‘Silly T’

Leave a Reply

