‘The Price of Fame’

Shoot a little video at a nice beach with a good friend?  Sure!  What could possibly go wrong!? About a week after returning from Indonesia, my buddy Jared asked if I could help him out with a short film he was working on.  I couldn’t think of any good excuses at the time, so a week or so later we were in the car and on our way to Jacksonville, which is about a three hour ride from here.  He choose a place called ‘Black Rock Trail,’ both for it’s scenery and seclusion.  Here’s a link if you’re interested…   http://www.floridastateparks.org/bigtalbotisland/

The 'Set'

The ‘Set’

We went straight to the beach to scout the location and discovered that we wouldn’t have to trek too far for a good place to shoot the next day; a huge plus because there was a lot of crap to lug around.  So far, so good!

Horseshoe Crab

Horseshoe Crab

We then left the beach and checked into our hotel, one we were convinced was housing just-released convicts.  I’ve stayed in a lot worse, but being that I hadn’t been back that long, it made an impression.  Jared was flipping the bill however, there wasn’t much to complain about.  For whatever reason (fear of being stabbed in the middle of the nite perhaps!?), we both slept horribly; three hours tops.  Needless to say, it was a rough morning, especially knowing that we’d be out in the sun all day.

Jared having breakfast in bed.

Jared having breakfast in bed.

After a quick breakfast, we went out to the ‘set.’  Keep in mind, there weren’t any ‘facilities’ at this park, so when Jared’s stomach started rumbling and I heard the words, ‘oh no,’ I knew the woods were in for a real treat.  Once that was all taken care of and Jared gathered what was left of his dignity, we started getting everything together and I put on my costume.  And here’s where it starts going south.

'It's gonna be a hot one!'

‘It’s gonna be a hot one!’

I expected to be hot out there, but the last thing I wanted was to get a burned beak, and since the film didn’t have me sporting a sombrero and sunglasses, I figured I’d better go heavy on the sunscreen; his daughter’s, child proof stuff by the way.  I put at least two thick coats of that crap on, so I felt pretty confident, cocky even, that I’d be coming back as white as I started.

Those glasses have to come off soon.

Those glasses have to come off soon.

We then worked our way through the trail and hit the beach, equipment and props in tow.  Jared gets everything together and we start shooting.  The first bit we worked on had a lot of dialog stuff.  It’s going swell by my estimation, and I think Jared was happy with it too.  Then the proverbial crap hits the fan…

No breeze or shade in sight.

No breeze or shade in sight.

That ‘childproof’ sunscreen mixes with my sweat and seeps into my eyes.  I then proceed to get some kind of allergic reaction that has snot running out of my nose like a broken faucet and my eyes are burning fiercely.  I was M-I-S-E-R-A-B-L-E for the following seven or eight hours!  I couldn’t stop thinking, ‘here I am trying to do my buddy a favor and this is how I’m being rewarded!?’  I have to give credit to Jared though.  I must have said every nasty word there was over the course of the day (repeatedly), but he was very patient throughout.  I know he didn’t get all the shots he wanted, and I know I wasn’t able to ‘act’ like I’d have wanted (given that I could hardly open my eyes), but we made do and I’m sure he’ll make the most of it.  Jared, if you read this, THANKS A LOT!  :oD

*The following three photos were taken more recently at a location nearby, as we didn’t get everything done the day Jared poisoned my eyes.

'The Director'

‘The Director’

Carter Road

Carter Road

'The Talent'

‘The Talent’

2 thoughts on “‘The Price of Fame’

  1. You look like like Gilligan! Were you guys shooting a pilot for the “Return of Gilligan’s Island”?????? Where was the SKIPPER???? (and…don’t be a smart *** and tell me you don’t know who Gilligan is!!!!!!

    • I was always more of a Ginger man, but yes, I know this Gilligan you speak of. 😊 It was more of, ‘Welcome to Torture Island’ than ‘Gilligan’s paradise.

Leave a Reply

