‘When I was your age…’

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/eba/11988437/files/2014/12/img_0273-0.png We’ve all heard the line, ‘when I was your age, I use to walk two miles through the snow to get to school.’ I’m not in school anymore, but I’ve always wanted to see what that was like, so I have walked the 2+ miles to work the last couple of days in -2 & -6 degrees Fahrenheit. Here are a few things I’ve learned along the way… 1) Apparently, Nike Free sneakers are NOT the ideal choice for hiking in the snow. 2) When your telephone gets to a certain pre-determined temperature, it’ll shut off, taking the music you were listening to with it.  This is not good. 3) After the face and toes go completely numb, it takes approximately 5-10 minutes indoors to regain any feeling. 4) When it’s really cold, the sensation to urinate increases exponentially. This can be an uncomfortable feeling on a long walk. 5) Lastly, I kind of like it (the walking I mean).  Now, if I ever have kids of my own, I can feed them the same ‘when I was your age…’ line. Wishing you all a Happy and Healthy New Year!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/eba/11988437/files/2014/12/img_0279-0.jpg

2 thoughts on “‘When I was your age…’

    • In theory, it’s a grand idea, no question about it! My faulty thinking however, tells me to wear them until then fall apart. There are only a few months of winter left after all. 😀

Leave a Reply

