‘Boulder Birthday Girl’

Table One for Many

Table One for Many

Last weekend I finally made the shorter than I thought trek to Boulder, CO for my friend Sarah P’s 26th birthday.  I had made many a silent threat that I would go visit her for the last five months, but with the birthday on tap, I really had no other choice.  It was time.

The weather had been pretty warm leading up to the weekend, but by Friday nite, it started to cool down a bit.  I really was fine with that, so long as it didn’t snow, because I absolutely did not want to drive in it.  Saturday rolled around and it was a bit colder still, but still nice and dry.  I had a very lazy morning and it was well past noon before I made it to the gym.  Before I knew it, it was 6pm, which meant it was time to get in the truck and boogie.

26...the good ol' days!

26…the good ol’ days!

The last words I remember Sarah saying were, in her trademark midwestern accent, “And you don’t have to worry, Joe. There’s no snow!”  Wonderful news.

She was right, at least for a little while.  I made it to Boulder in one dry piece, but while were all at dinner (at a trendy place called ‘The Med,’ I believe), it started coming down… and quickly!  Sarah was elated by this.  Me, not so much.  I was wearing a very thin jacket that was built for a good 67-74 degree weather.  A snow storm was a little bit of a stretch for both my jacket and myself, but this was Sarah’s birthday, so if she was happy, I’d just have to pretend to be.

After dinner we hit a place called ‘Press Play’ because the group wanted to dance.  I was more in a observing mood.  Nonetheless, a good time was had by all and I was happy to be a part of it.  Thank you much for the invite, Sarah and Happy 26th Birthday!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

