‘Two Thirds Reunion’

'Counselor Morriss'

‘Counselor Morriss’

Wild.  I haven’t seen Matt Morriss for ten years.  Matt and Teddy, a.k.a. ‘T-Bear’ were my very first roommates in Japan.  When I arrived they weren’t even in town, but I have a vivid memory of Matt having left a very thorough welcome-note that I appreciate to this day.  I will never forget that first week alone there.  They were good times, but I was eager to meet the people I would be living with for the unforeseeable future, and when I finally did, I wasn’t disappointed in the least.  I haven’t kept up with either Matt or Teddy as much as I’d have liked, so it was it was pretty awesome catching up with Matt last Saturday nite.

Two out of three, ten years later.

Two out of three, ten years later.

Even back when we first met, I admired Matt’s insight, so I enjoy asking him questions.  We were able to discuss a lot that evening, but not nearly enough.  It’s always interesting to me how people see things differently and Matt has a perspective that I lack.  In any event, I’m happy things have turned out well for him (he’s currently working as a Public Defender in northern Colorado) and I’m really thrilled we finally got a chance to meet again.  In a perfect world we would’ve had ‘T-Bear’ along for the nite, but I haven’t given up hope that will happen one day.  Matt, thank you much for dinner and for making the trek!  I think it’s safe to say that if it weren’t for you, I’d never have tried sushi in the Rocky Mountain state.  And for all your kindness way back when, well, I won’t forget it.  ‘Why don’t we go ahead and…leave this book open for a bit this time.’

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Circa 2004, from L-R: Me, Morriss & ‘T-Bear’ Wilson.

Leave a Reply

