‘Mr. Sandman’

When I woke up with no voice Sunday, I felt it might be time to shake things up a little.  I’d been getting by with very little sleep for a very long time.  I’ve never been an restful sleeper to begin with, but in recent months I’ve reached new, sleep deprivation lows.  There was a stretch this past week where I was up for a good 37 hours straight.  And during that time I wasn’t exactly meandering about the house in my underoos.  I was all over the place.The-sleeping-dog I’m not able to generate more than a whisper at the moment, which has it’s perks, but the overall wearing down of my body leads me to believe I am in serious need of more sleep.  The biggest change will be giving up my 3:30am wake-ups for the gym.  Although I love having the feeling of starting the day with something healthy, when I know I have to get up early, it’s challenging for me to relax the nite before. More often than not, I wind up waking before the alarm even goes off.  I’m really excited about all this, especially since reading a book about how important sleep is.  Last nite was the first nite I got seven full hours of sleep in weeks and I now I’m hungry for more.  Now where’s my binky!!

Leave a Reply

