‘Beach Day (& a gratuitous shot of Eddie)’

I remember very clearly the last time I actually stepped foot in the ocean. It was June of 2014 and we had just finished up with our Peace Corps commitment. Before we went our separate ways, my buddy Justin and I spent a week in Bali to unwind and attempt to process what we’d all just been through.

Last Friday, my friend Jared and I spent the day at a beach in Clearwater. It took nearly three years, but I’m happy to say that I once again know what it feels like to submerge myself in the ocean, and how did it feel?? Cold…VERY COLD! The water was one thing, but the worst of it was when we got out and the wind hit our skin. We’d spent most of the time throwing the football and running around on the beach, but I honestly don’t remember seeing a drop of sweat on my body the entire day. It was really a perfect day to be out there, so long as you weren’t looking to lounge in the waves.

I’m really happy we made it. It’s so easy to get caught up in whatever you are, or aren’t doing, and leave it at that. It’s extra challenging when many of your friends are married and/or have children to care for. Any moment you get to spend with them is most welcome.  I want to thank J-Rod for making the time to meet up and provide much needed break from the heavy stuff. Let’s do it again soon!

Leave a Reply

