‘Summering in Salone: Part III’

And here we are, folks, the third and final chapter of my ‘Summering in Salone.’  A quarter of a year isn’t much in the grand scheme of things, but it’s enough to count.    There are plenty of things I’ll miss about this place, but, chief among them is the people I’ve met.

Admittedly, it was a bit intense at times, but that tends to make the observations/memories a little sharper.  That said, I’m excited to head back.  I can’t wait to catch up with my family and friends, but I’m also eager to try some new activities once I’m back in Tucson.  With a year of school remaining, I want to make the most of it.

I’ve been able to learn a few things about small-scale fish farming, which is great, but there is one huge take away from my time here that I hope to cling to and that is to slow down.  This country has one of the lowest life expectancies on the planet and spending some time here has been as good a reminder as any to appreciate all that I have and enjoy myself more.  Cliche?  Without question, but it’s true.  And with that, I would like to thank each and every one of you who’ve made this experience for me a special one!

Wishing you all as much good health and good fortune as you can handle.

Your pal,

‘The Joe’

Leave a comment